In the 1980s, I had a friend who made fun of her younger brother by saying his bad attitude could be summarized by: “I want what I want, and I want it NOW!” 

The other day, while observing the behavior of some Christmas shoppers around town, it suddenly struck me exactly how human this attitude is.  In fact, this is the best summary of why the human race will eventually destroy the one and only planet they can survive on.

Even though most of the people in the world now know about climate change, and can observe already the first signs that our activities on this planet have damaged the systems that regulate the temperature of earth, we can find no agreement among nations to change this destructive behavior.

The human race historically seems well defined by:    “I want what I want, and I want it NOW!”  We have always been searching for more for ourselves and our families.  This attitude seems natural and yet is heading us towards a collision course with our future environment.

So glad I chose not to have children.  They are the ones who will suffer as the earth’s climate changes dramatically in the next century.

