I’m 57 and somehow I have made it through my entire life without an app.  In fact, I have never even owned a cellphone as far as that goes…

The other day I overheard a young woman putting down her friend for having a two year old phone.  “I can’t believe you still have that old phone..”  EXCUSE ME???

Am I the only sane one left on this planet who thinks a cellphone is a complete waste of time and money?  PROBABLY!

Every time I check into the possibility of getting one the contract prices and monthly charges have doubled AGAIN.  Data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics’ Consumer Expenditure Survey (CE) shows that cell phone expenditures increased rapidly from 2001 through 2007, with the total cost of owning a cell phone surpassing the cost of residential landline phone services beginning in 2007.

Cell phone providers must be working under the assumption that they will just continue raising prices until the consumer stops paying… but they never do!  Talk about a dysfunctional addiction!

I must say, I appreciate everyday the fact that I never jumped on that gravy train for cell phone service providers!  That is one seriously expensive technology addiction that just about everyone has swallowed hook, line and sinker.

Next time you use your cell phone, think about what else you could do with those thousands of dollars per year you spend on just having a phone.

